Seeking a better life

Many people that move out of their own country  because they want a better life, an El Camino student from El Salvador said.

Bartolo Chacon, 23, nursing major said that he came to the United States when he was 12 years old to look for a better education, so he can have a better future.

Q: Where are you from?

A: I am from Chalatenango, El Salvador. A country that is in Central America, which is next to Guatemala and Honduras.

Q: Can you tell me a little bit about your culture and why you came to this country?

A: My culture is almost similar to other Latin cultures I think  what make us different from other cultures is our music because we dance cumbia.

Q: Do you like more here or your home country?

A: I definitely like more here. I have so much freeman because due to the high crime rate in my country is really dangerous to go outside or hangout with friends. I’m very proud to be Latino, especially proud to be salvadorean but I have a lot of opportunities here in the United States than in my own country.

Q: Do you think El Camino is a welcoming campus? Why?

A:  I think EC is a welcoming campus. I really feel connected to other students, especially to students who have come to this country to have a better life for them and their family, as well.

Q: Tell me a time when you had to work with someone who has a different culture than yours?

A: I remember a time when I had to work with students from different countries for our Small Group communication class. One the members was a girl from Russia. The weird thing was that she agreed with everything we were saying about our presentation and I noticed it and I asked her “what do you think about our ideas?” Her reaction scared me because she was like surprise by what I asked her and her response was with another question. She said “Can I share my ideas too?” And we all said yes and she was happy. Then, she said that where she came from girls weren’t allow to share their thoughts or their ideas.

Q: What is the most famous food in your country?

A: One of the most famous food from my country is Pupusa, which is made of a corn tortilla filled with refried beans, cheese, and you can add pork. Everything goes inside the corn tortilla.

image

These are Pupupasas, a traditional dish from El Salvador. Photo Courtesy: Fatima Macias.

Leave a Reply

