Pursuing the American Dream

Coming to a new country where you had to started from zero, it was not easy for me, Carlos Melgar, 21, kinesiology major said.

Melgar said that he started his education in middle school and he knew that his family gave him the opportunity to work towards a life of values and love.

Q: Where are you from?

A: I was born in Jutiapa, Guatemala.

Q: Can you tell me a little bit about your culture?

A: My culture does not differ much from the rest of the Central American countries. What differ us from the rest is that our national anthem is the second most beautiful in the entire world. Our national bird is el Quetzal. In Guatemala is costumed to greet people with a kiss on the cheek. We have approximately 24 ethnic languages deriving from the Mayans. We also have a large population of indigenous people. 

Q: Why you came to this county?

A: I decided to come to this country with the mentality of pursuing my dream. I knew what it means to have nothing, so working on becoming a person of value. I believe that anything is possible despite the oppression. What you have is enough to take you far. All you need is faith, stay focused, and engage in consistent action. Why I came here is not important what I’m doing here is what’s important.

Q: Do you like more here or you home country?

A: I like it here better. Despite the oppression I had to faced and obstacles. It all has been worth it. Here everything is much easier, but what’s most important I feel safe.

Q: Do you think El Camino is a welcoming campus? Why?

A: Yes, I like el Camino, it’s a great campus with lots of programs that help students achieve their goals and I see a lot of students with different background.

Q: Tell me about a time when you had to work with someone who has a different culture?

A: I have always work with people all over the world. It’s amazing how we think we’re different from others but we aren’t. Are values are similar and even dishes.

Q: What is the most famous Guatemalan food?

A: One of our traditional meals is the “chuchitos,” which are similar to tamales, but they are made with a thick dough.

Leave a Reply

