Getting better for myself and my family

Many people that decide to move to the United States is because they seeking a better life for them and their family and this is the case of a 21-year-old student.

Susana Vasquez, English major was born and raised in this country, but both of her father are from El Salvador.

Vasquez said that she never had visited her parent’s home country because there are a lot of crime activities and she is scared that something bad can happen to her.

 

Q: Can you tell me a little bit about your culture?

A:  I’m not very familiar with Salvadoran culture. What my grandparent have told me is like a farm life. it’s what you have, it’s what you get and you don’t really expand from what you are.

Q: What motivates you to come to school?

A: My parent motivates me to come to school because they came from their country to give me a better life and I feel that I have to pay them back by better myself. Not just for me, but for them, as well. Also, it’s my responsibility to change my generation within my family and be a role model for my other siblings.

Q: Do you think El Camino is a welcoming campus? Why?

A:  I think EC is a welcoming campus. I really haven’t face any type of discrimination, but I do get scared when I read the newspaper and it says ‘there was some in the campus with a gun’ or other crime activities that had happened in the past. Overall, I think it’s pretty safe.

Q: Tell me a time when you had to work with someone who has a different culture than yours?

A: I have worked with classmates that are very diverse. I did work with an Asian, who was new to the school and she didn’t know English.  I remember that she had a little computer where she used to translate words that she didn’t understand. I really noticed that she had a different mindset and her people celebrate things that I celebrate with my family, but what actually separate us is the language barrier.

Q: What is the most famous food in your country?

A: I know about that (she laughed). Pupusas is the most known typical dish from El Salvador, which is a corn tortilla and the inside is filled with refried beans, cheese, and sometimes you can add meat. We also eat ‘Platanos’ (plantains). We fried them and we eat it with refried beans, cream, and cheese.

Leave a Reply

