Living in a country of freedom

Unfortunately, Honduras is one of the most dangerous and poorest countries in Central America and that it is why many families decide to emigrate to this country, a 20-year-old El Camino student said.

David Umana who is a criminal and justice major at EC said that he lives with his mother and father in South Central Los Angeles and his family moved to the U.S because his parent didn’t have a job to support his family.

Q: Can you tell me a little bit about your culture?

A: Honduras is a beautiful country. It’s a multicultural country. One of the biggest events that we celebrate is Independence Day on September 15. People say “we celebrate our freedom,” but I think in reality we do it because we are proud of our traditions because our government is corrupt and the main gangs are the one who’s controlling the country by killing innocent people.  But anyway, one of the most important festivals we celebrate is “La Feria Isidra de La Ceiba,” which is celebrated in San Isidro, La Ceiba. It is a parade in honor to Saint Isidro.

Q: Do you like it here more or your home country more?

A: Obviously, I like it more here because I really feel free in this country and the thing that I like more is that I have so many opportunities that I don’t want to miss one. However, I will never forget where I came from because this is what I am, but I’m working hard to make a better version for my future.

Q: What is a famous typical food from Honduras?

A:  We have different typical food, but one that many people know is the ‘Baleada.’ A ‘Baleada’ is a tortilla made of flour, which you can add fried beans, cheese, and sour cream. Also, you can add egg and meat. Then, you folded like a taco, but it’s not a taco.

Q: Do you think EC  is a welcoming campus? 

A: Yes, I think EC is a welcoming campus. Most of the staff here is really friendly and they help you with any question you have. Also, I have met a lot of students from different classes country.

Q: Tell us about a time when you had to work with someone who has a different culture?

A: Last semester I met a girl from China in my ESL class. We both are learning English and what I really like from her what that she is a person who is seeking a dream just like me. We both came from different countries, but she thinks different from what my friends have in mind. She wants to have a better future, not like my friends who the only thing they want to do its partying.

Q: What motivates you to come to school?

A: My parents. They have sacrificed a lot in order for me to attend college and work toward a better life. I’m not saying that I have a bad life right now, but I know I can do better than what I have and it’s a nice way to pay parents back for everything they have done for me so far.

Leave a Reply

